The smallest Union Territory of India, Lakshadweep is an archipelago of 12 atolls, three reefs and five submerged banks.

Sprawling in an area of 32 Sq. Kms, this uni-district Union Territory constitutes ten inhabited islands, which are Kavaratti, Agatti, Amini, Kadmat, Kiltan, Chetlat, Bitra, Andrott, Kalpeni and Minicoy. In addition to these, there are 17 uninhabited islands attached islets, four recently formed islets and 5 underwater reefs.

The geographical location of Lakshadweep is between 8º- 12º 13" North latitude and 71º -74º East longitude. Enclosed by the emerald waters of the Arabian Sea, this beautiful group of islands lie approximately 200-440 Kms. away from the coastal city of Kochi in Kerala.

Lakshadweep has a lagoon area of about 4,200 Sq. kms, territorial waters spreading in about 20,000 Sq. kms and nearly 4 lakhs Sq. kms. of economic zone.